That 70’s Look

on

Seventies style was one of the big trends on the spring runways. Designers like Matthew Williamson, Rachel Zoe,and Jason Wu, all referenced 70’s vibes in their collections. For this photo shoot, I decided to take on that 70’s look but add a modern twist. We all know the 70’s signature pant was the bell-bottom. Instead of such a wide flare, take a chance on boot-cut denim. Honestly, for the last 5 years, my denim purchases have focused on skinny, ankle and boyfriend cuts. But, I love my latest purchase from Banana Republic. The fit is amazingly comfortable and I forgot how much I missed the subtle drama of a boot-cut. To bring in more of the 7o’s vibe, I hit up my local thrift stores to find a top that had the retro glam feel I wanted. Thrift stores are a great source to find period pieces. The key is being patient, having an idea for what you are looking for and going on a weeknight when the store is not crowded. After mulling over several choices, I finally decided on this sunny yellow printed shirt. The fabric, button front and tied waist reminded me of some of the popular features of 70’s dressing. For shoes, I pulled my black wedge booties from my wardrobe. They reminded me of a platform sole and are a great transition piece from winter to spring. For accessories, I used items that were passed down to me from my grandmothers. The purse, ring, necklace, and bracelet were pieces my grandmothers wore often. There is something very sweet and special about taking items passed down to you and giving them a place in your wardrobe. Every time I wear these pieces it reminds me of them and I hope someday to pass them down to my own little fashionista.

70's-1 70's-14 70's-8 70's-3 70's-2 70's-13 70's-15 70's-11 70's-10 70's-6

Leave a Reply

