Women of Style: Stylist Amanda Perkins

Each Tuesday in the month of May, I am celebrating women of style. Each of these women are inspiring forces in style and beauty and I am honored to feature each one of them.
My first feature is stylist Amanda Perkins of Platinum Salon in Tampa, Florida. I have known Amanda for over 8 years (maybe closer to 10!) Besides having a sweet personality, she has a keen sense of style. Each time her clients come to her for services she uses her gift of styling to bring out the confidence and beauty every woman deserves to have. Check out my brief interview with her below.

Stylist Amanda Perkins
Stylist Amanda Perkins

Me: When did you know being a professional hairstylist was your passion?

Amanda: I think I’ve always known that I wanted to do hair professionally. I remember being in 4th or 5th grade and having an utter meltdown if I couldn’t get my hair to do exactly what I was envisioning. Throughout my teens, my hairstylist would always tell me, “You should go to school and get your license because you have a natural ability and you know what looks good on people.” I started thinking about it more seriously and realized that I did really love it. I was so drawn to every aspect of the hair and beauty industry. I just love making people feel amazing about themselves, forming relationships, and educating my guest’s on what is the most flattering style for them and how to achieve it. I know what it feels like when you get your hair done and it isn’t what you wanted or they cut too much off, and I also know how great it feels when you come out of the salon and are completely thrilled with your new style! Pleasing my salon guests and making them feel like they could conquer the world, that’s my passion-that’s what drives me.

Me: What are some current hair trends that you love?
Amanda: I feel like we are experiencing some of the most fun trends in hair that we’ve seen in a long time! People are loosening up, having fun with their hair, and trying new things! I’m still head-over-heels for braids of any kind. I just cannot resist a chic fishtail braid with lots of texture! I’m also loving the use of accessories like the flower crowns paired with long, tousled waves-very Bohemian, and colorful bobby pins that are MEANT to be seen. In the way of color, ombre and sombre(subtle ombre) are still on top. Placement of the color is the key to keeping it looking sunkissed and organic. Pastels are also very popular right now. But, I think there is beauty in seeing a rich, dimensional brunette as well. That’s what I love, women are embracing all of these looks right now!

Me: What is your best advice for balancing work and family?

Amanda: I wish I had some magical answer to that! Maintaining a good balance between my family and my work is always my priority. What I have going for me is that I have an amazing group of supporters! My husband is my biggest fan, our families are always willing to help out, and my amazing Salon Director knows and appreciates how important my family is to me. I’m thankful to have a schedule that allows a few days off each week. I think every mom struggles with guilt from time to time. I definitely do. But, when I look at my son, who’s going to be eight this year, I see a silly, kind-hearted, thriving little boy who knows he is loved. I’ve been a stay-at-home mom and I’ve been a working mom, and both have had their challenges. My best advice is to have fun, be in the moment, and enjoy the time that you spend with your family, and then also create little spaces of time here and there that are just for you. It’s not a fool-proof plan, but it’s what I do, and I feel like it has allowed me to have the best of both worlds.

Me: What is your go-to outfit?
Amanda: Being a hairsrtylist, I live in black clothing most of the time! Although, I love to play with color and patterns, and I have a major addiction to statement necklaces! My go-to, never lets me down, wear anywhere outfit would probably be skinny jeans and a black top. It could be distressed skinnies, a flowy black top and flats with a long necklace and a messy top-knot, or dark wash skinnies and a black tank top and blazer with heels, a bold necklace and retro waves. I feel like I could literally make a thousand outfits out of the “black top and jeans” concept! It’s mom-friendly and still looks super put together.

Here are some of Amanda’s favorite hair transformations.

Alea pic 1 Alea pic 4 Alea pic 7 Alea pic3 Alea pic4 Alea pic5 Alea pic7 Aleapic2 Aleapic3

 

If you live in the Tampa area, schedule your appointment with Amanda by calling 813-973-2400. You can also follow her on Instagram @aperky

 

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Alea says:

      Thank you so much fashionforlunch!

Leave a Reply

