Designer Interview: Meredith Garrett of Signorelli

on

For those of you who aren’t familiar, let me introduce you to Signorelli. Signorelli is a contemporary women’s graphic tee line based in LA. All of their tees, tanks, and sweaters are made in the US and available for under $100! One of my favorite things about the brand is their commitment to giving back to the community. A portion of every tee you buy, goes to support 8 amazing causes. You can read about the causes on the Signorelli Movement homepage. I had the opportunity to ask Signorelli designer Meredith Garrett a few questions to get to know her and the brand a little bit better.

Me: Tell me how you got your start in design?

Meredith: My love of art inspired me to start the line, but I have always been interested in fashion. I did not work for another clothing company before starting Signorelli in 2005. In 2003 I moved out to Los Angeles after writing a screenplay. My goal was to be a screen writer when one day while I was working at New Line Cinema I decided I would try to start a t-shirt collection. I read a lot of books, did my own research and taught myself by just getting out there and figuring it out.

Me: What do you enjoy most about designing for Signorelli?

Meredith: I enjoy the art direction process. I have a true love of art and love working with artists.

Me: I love that your company gives back! How did you choose your 8 causes?

Meredith: Our 8 causes come from our past collaborations. From 2005 to 2009 I donated back proceeds from the shirts to various charitable organizations such as: the Children’s Health Fund, Environmental Media Association, Defenders of Wildlife, Susan G. Komen, and many more. When starting my own foundation in 2009 I wanted to choose areas of need that we were already targeting and that I was familiar with. Since we covered so many different types of charitable organizations, I came up with 8 causes to target through our foundation, the Signorelli Movement Foundation.

Me: What’s next on the horizon for Signorelli? Do you think you will expand your offerings to more clothing and accessory items?

Meredith: Signorelli Inc has many divisions and brands under its umbrella such as: Signorelli kids, Signorelli University, Paper Hart, Transmission, and Recycled Karma. Our goal for the Signorelli brand specifically is to eventually expand the collection into woven separates.

Here are a few of my favorite Signorelli tees from the current collection

__

A special thanks to Meredith and Michele Marie PR.

Leave a Reply

