Look and Feel Great 24-7: Update Your Wardrobe

nothingtowear

The New Year is upon us! There are just 5 days left in 2012, and if you haven’t already been thinking about New Year’s Resolutions, I am sure you will start soon. In 2013, I want all of my readers to look and feel great 24-7. So, for the next 5 days, I will be bringing you tips to accomplish that goal. First up is updating your wardrobe. Have you ever looked in your closet and thought, “I have nothing to wear!” Here are 5 tips to help you never say that again in 2013… or at least not as much.

1. Clean Out Your Closet.

Back in May, I wrote a post on great tips to clean out your closet. My number 1 tip for cleaning out your closet is If you haven’t worn it in 1 year, get rid of it. You can read the full post on how to clean out your closet here.

2.  Diversify Your Collection

Humans are creatures of habit, and oftentimes when we go shopping, we buy very similar items. After a period of time, our closet seems to have a myriad  of clothes that look so similar, it makes us feel like we don’t have anything to wear. So, eliminate repeat items. No one needs  4 black sweaters. Pick 2 that you like the best and get rid of the other 2. Be sure to add color and texture to the mix.

3. Don’t Be Afraid to Mix it Up

Most of us have had the experience of going shopping, seeing something that we sort of like, but aren’t quite sure about it. Don’t be afraid to try something new. I am not suggesting that you all of a sudden begin wearing clothes that you hate, but trying a new shirt, or a pair of shoes that are a little outside  your comfort zone is good for you. It can show you that there are trends and styles that look good on you!

4. Accessorize

I am a big proponent of accessories. Its a great way to show your style and add lots of flavor to your outfit. Most of the time, accessories are relatively inexpensive and can be  a great way to incorporate trends into your wardrobe. Perhaps my favorite place to purchase costume jewelery is Forever 21. They have a ton of great things for very reasonable prices. I love accessories so much that I have 7 Pinterest Boards dedicated to it! Get accessory inspired here:

A Woman’s Right to Shoes

Arm Candy

It’s in the Bag

Put a Ring on It

No More Naked Neck

Decorate your Ears

Fashion Extras

5. When in Doubt Seek Help

If you are not sure about what to do, ask a friend who has a great sense of style. You can always submit your style questions to me on my Ask Me! page! I am always ready to help!

Leave a Reply

