The Journey to Spring Part 1: Meet the Designer

Have you ever wondered what it takes to create a Spring collection? Wonder no more!  I have teamed up with up designer Tarsha Williams and her label DelMoniCole Clothing to give my readers the inside scoop into how a collection comes together. Over the next several months, we will follow Tarsha each step of the way as she creates her Spring 2013 collection.  We will see how she chooses her theme, fabrics,  and designs, with the grand finale of the Spring collection  going live on her website. Part one of our journey begins with learning more about her as a designer. I asked Tarsha a few question so that we can get to know her better. After all, we are going to be in her creative space for the next few months.  🙂

Me: How did you get started in fashion design?

Tarsha: When I was around 8 I started collecting Archie comic books. The author always had the leading ladies Betty and Veronica in the cutest outfits.  I wanted to dress like them or at least have clothes like them in my closet. Whenever I got a new one, I would take their outfits and change it up to fit my body and style.

Me: What inspires you as a designer?

Tarsha: I’m inspired by things that make me happy. Bright colors, sunny days, bold patterns, nice places   etc. I truly am at my best when I am happy and that’s when I design. I want my clothes to make others happy, so I make a lot of pieces that I associate with happiness and freedom

Me: Tell us about one of your most favorite designs from your Spring 2012 Collection?

Tarsha: My favorite design is the pleated wide leg pant. I LOVE the seventies and I love the flow of them. It’s a piece that I can throw a tank top and flip flops on and look causally fab or dress it up to become the diva I love to feel like. They’re awesome!

Me: What is your favorite trend for this fall?

Tarsha:My favorite trend for this Fall would have to be the addition of lace. I always thought of lace for Spring/Summer collections but I love the new take in the Fall. It definitely gives a more Victorian feel.

__

Needless to say, I am very excited to feature Tarsha Williams and DelMoniCole Clothing on my blog. Check back next Thursday to see where her Spring 2013 inspiration is coming from.

To learn more about Tarsha Williams or DelMoniCole  Clothing visit her website http://www.delmonicole.com

You can also follow her on Twitter, Facebook, and Tumblr

3 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

